AusBusiness Review

Product Reviews

Hotmail.com – Email Where You Need It

Hotmail (www.hotmail.com.au) is one of the world's largest providers of free web-based e-mail. Find out how to login or use POP3 to download and read your email wherever you are.

www.hotmail.com.au Login www.hotmail.com.au

Hotmail.com Webmail

Hotmail is the first and the most well known webmail program launched in the mid ’90s. It still evolves and adds new features like Hotmail POP3 access, an integrated audio player for voicemail and a rich Ajax-based web interface.

The original service was founded by Sabeer Bhatia and Jack Smith, and was one of the first webmail services on the Internet. It was commercially launched on July 4, 1996, American Independence Day, symbolizing “freedom” from ISP-based e-mail and the ability to access a user’s inbox from anywhere in the world. The name was chosen out of many possibilities ending in “-mail” as it included the letters HTML – the coding used behind all web pages. Originally, Hotmail was written down as “HoTMaiL” – the capital latters making the word HTML. By December 1997 (1,5 years after launch), it reported more than 8.5 million subscribers. Hotmail was acquired by Microsoft in 1997 for an estimated $400 million, and rebranded as “MSN Hotmail” and then as “Windows Live Hotmail” in 2005 and released worldwide in 2007 (Source: Wikipedia Hotmail).

Hotmail Login & POP3 Details

The current day system boasts a very powerful anti-spam protection engine and a generous 5GB space allocation for email storage. Earlier this year Microsoft announced that they enabled SMTP and POP3, which meant that users can now download emails directly to their home computers or even mobile phones.

Here are the details for Hotmail POP3 and SMTP

  • POP3: pop3.live.com (Port 995)
  • POP SSL required? Yes
  • User name: Your Windows Live ID, for example yourname@hotmail.com
  • Password: Your Hotmail or Windows Live password
  • SMTP: smtp.live.com (Port 25)
  • Authentication required? Yes (same as POP username and password)
  • TLS/SSL required? Yes
  • Secure Connection: Always use a secure connection (SSL) when retrieving mail

Hotmail Sign Up

To sign up for Hotmail is easy. As with everything else, fill in your details, agree to the terms and conditions and hit enter. Your new @hotmail address will also be your Windows Live ID which you’ll be able to use to access other sites and services (for example, to login to MSN Messenger). Once your new email address is active you will receive notices and service updates and even advertisements from Windows Live, Bing and so on. At this stage it is not clear whether it is possible to opt-out from receiving these emails to your Hotmail address.

And finally… a bit of history. Here are some screen shots of Hotmail over time.

All trademarks are property of their prospective owners. Please read our disclaimer.

Windows Live@Edu

Hotmail evolved a lot and now offers Windows Live@Edu – free email to educational institutions around the world. The latest one in Perth was Curtin University that just deployed the system to their Graduate Business School.

Hotmail Windows Live@Edu

I have to say that interface is very light and fast – a great improvement since the old IMP/Horde based email system. With Hotmail Live@Edu you get 10GB mail box and a range of Microsoft tools.

You may also like to see  Computer Repairs, Twitter, Facebook and DNS cache articles.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

Cast Your Vote

Let us know what you think about the product or service described above and share your comments below.

Rating: 4.5/5 (1 vote cast)
Hotmail.com - Email Where You Need It, 4.5 out of 5 based on 1 rating

 

Available In AustraliaService Availability: Most of the services reviewed by "Aus Business Review" are provided by Australian based companies and organisations and available in different Australian states and territories. These include New South Wales (Sydney, Newcastle), Queensland (Brisbane, Gold Coast), South Australia (Adelaide), Victoria (Melbourne, Ballarat), Western Australia (Perth, Albany, Mandurah, Bunbury, Port Hedland, Kalgoorlie), Northern Territory (Darwin, Alice Springs), Australian Capital Territory (Canberra) and Tasmania (Hobart).



Looking For More Information?

Make sure to explore other AusBusiness Review articles in the Computers & Internet category or contact us to suggest a website or a service to review.

search
Need to FIND something QUICK?
SEARCH!

The review "Hotmail.com – Email Where You Need It" was last updated on 14/5/09.

28 User Reviews

  1. I reckon Hotmail was the a start of social networking the way we know it today. It was a bold idea back then to make email available anywhere in the world. I remember receiving an email from someone who used it, and I thought, wow, this system is really hot! I’m also glad to see that it developed a lot in the recent years and is very fast and is able to compete with gmail and yahoo mail. (Now that yahoo and MS are one, it’ll be interesting to see what’s going to happen with the two webmail systems).

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  2. Curtin university in Perth announced that they will be migrating their student email accounts to Microsoft Live@edu – I suppose it’s similar to hotmail.com.au? Here is that link: http://www.zdnet.com.au/news/software/soa/Curtin-Uni-picks-Microsoft-Live-edu/0,130061733,339298340,00.htm

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. It’s all that computer storage could rubbish. It’s amazing how many people and businesses get on that band-wagon which is no more than just what we know as “cluster”. www,hotmail.com.au for university email? That is very professional! There must be very skillful sales people at MS to sell @live to a university like Curtin.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. Ben – Live@edu and Hotmail are two different systems. Live@edu hosted email is actually quite nice..

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. Live@edu looks good – http://www.microsoft.com/liveatedu/free-hosted-student-email.aspx It sounds to me like a nobrainer. Why bother with in-house email when you can outsource the whole lot, cheaper to a more reliable system like that. I wonder how it compares with business gmail though..

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  6. Actually, it looks like Hotmail accounts can be used to login to that webmai system. Just came across this page that describes how to create Hotmail account logins for students: http://www.microsoft.com/liveatedu/hotmail-deployment-tool-options.aspx?locale=en-US&country=US

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  7. I don’t know about that. once you outsource your [university] email, you loose control. Who do you call when the system is down? How do you troubleshoot your hotmail/education accounts? “Cloud storage”, “hosted email” all sounds good, as long as you have direct access to that “cloud”. I think it won’t be long before we’ll hear some disaster stories about it all.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  8. That would be nice if they offered @hotmail.com.au address as well as @hotmail.com.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  9. I remember hotmail from way back. It was a nice little webmail system. But oh, boy, it was soo slow!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  10. I don’t think that Live@Edu is the same as Hotmail. It’s two different systems, even though both branded as Live emails.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  11. I need to got on

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  12. Hotmail was where I first created my first ever web-based email account and the benefits were really awesome back then. Having an ability to access your email messages from anywhere in the world was a feature unheard of back in the 90′s. If my memory serves me right, the limit for messages back then was a mere 2mb compared to today’s several GB’s of data. Good to see that service has evolved to what it is today.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  13. I remember paying for more storage with Hotmail. That all changed in 2004 when google’s gmail turned up offering gig’s of storage for free. Hotmail remains a distant memory for me… right beside ICQ.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  14. Thanks, i didnt even realise you could intergrate into your pop3.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  15. Hotmail was the king of webmail back then until Gmail arrived. Gmail is really giving Hotmail a run for its money.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  16. hi every one i really want to have a hot mail can i please

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  17. Hotmail was a reliable email service for me. I don’t ever recall having encountered any issues with my account. I am still using my original Hotmail email account up to this day although the interface has evolved significantly.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  18. iiiiiaaaailovehotmail

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  19. Hotmail is a great email service. I still have my Hotmail account which I have created some 9 years ago. Microsoft has improved the service over the years and what I like about Hotmail now is that it will automatically increase your Inbox capacity on a as needed basis.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  20. Why am l having trouble signing in to my hotmail account for last 2 days? Help needed.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  21. am having trouble logging in to my email

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  22. hey every one this is me betress and i just what to say that hotmail is a very good web for people i just lllllooovvvveeeeeeeeee hotmail.com(:

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  23. I am unable to sign in to get emails. I have to put in my password at least three times and I still do not get all the emails it says I have.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  24. Hi just wanted to change my name, i did that but i can’t access the email from before i changed the name/
    help!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  25. i need my hotmail/live user id ???

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  26. The worst ever, lost my icons
    for myself and user-can;t sign in!!!~!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  27. i havent checked my emails for sometime but the last time i did i had heaps. and just today i logged in to have a look and now it sais i have no emails, iv lost all my contacts, emails that were saved. please help as their important emails that i saved now iv got nothing….

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  28. tack till alla hotmail team och det är bästa service

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

What is your experience with using Hotmail? Please share here.

Comments Business Review

Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.